Import & Export Settings

Store or share your results and start with new images.

Quick steps

  1. Tap Export in the upper-right corner.
  2. Choose a method for exporting a result.
  3. Tap Open Gallery to start with a new photo.

With the Export menu, you can store your result in the gallery, copy it to the clipboard, open in other apps, email it, or share on social networks.

Step 1
Tap the Export button in the upper-right corner of the screen to access a menu with a number of ways to save and share your photos.

Step 2
Choose a method for exporting a result.

Save as Copy — an edited copy is saved next to the original in the general timeline and in the Recents album in the Photos gallery (if no EXIF data is missing; if some EXIF data is missing, an edited copy will be saved as the most recent one in the general timeline). The copy won’t be saved to the album the original is in.

Note: If you’d like all your edited copies to be stored in a separate album (TouchRetouch album) within the standard gallery (the Photos app), you could turn on the Save to App Album option in the app’s Settings menu (tap the Settings button in the upper-right corner of the Home screen to access the app’s settings).

Modify Original — an edited copy replaces the original in the general timeline in the Photos app under the date the original was taken; it can also be found in the album the original is kept within. The photo won’t appear in the Recents album.

Note: If your photo has been imported from the Files app, and not from the Photos gallery, an edited copy will replace the source image in its original location in the Files app.

SETTINGS

Tap Settings in the Export menu to choose the format and size for the output photo. If you’d like to resize an image to some exact dimensions, set the Size slider to Custom, and by tapping the Custom button, adjust the long side in pixels.

Step 3
Tap Open Gallery to start with a new photo.

When you have received the confirmation that your photo has been successfully exported, use the Open Gallery button in the Export menu to start with a new project.

Note: Your latest session is always accessible from the Home screen through the Continue feature at the bottom of the screen. If you’d like to discard the latest edits or save a photo as is, tap the three dots on the button and choose the corresponding option. As soon as you open a new photo, the latest session gets automatically cleared.

PHOTO IMPORT

You could use a few ways to import a photo to TouchRetouch. The classic method is through the app’s image gallery. It allows selecting photos from different albums that are located at the top of the gallery. By tapping a specific album, you unfold it and get access to its contents.

Now you can choose from three gallery views:

Square Photo grid view: This view is set as a default one; all your photos are organized in a scrollable grid and displayed as equal-sized thumbnails.

Note: If you have scrolled down to the bottom of the list and want to quickly come back to the top of it, just tap the corresponding album button.

Aspect Ratio grid view: If you’d like your photos to be displayed in their original proportions, switch to the Aspect Ratio grid by tapping the Gallery View button in the lower-left corner of the screen.

Full-Screen view: No matter which of the above-mentioned gallery views you have chosen, you can always enter the Full-Screen gallery view by pinching any of the photos to zoom it in. Pinch your fingers together to zoom the photo out and get back to the previously chosen gallery view.

Note: If you’d like to use the standard Photos gallery as a default image picker, go to the app’s Settings menu and turn the Use Standard Gallery option on.

Note: You can easily hide/unhide photos, add to/remove them from the Favorites album, or delete unwanted images right from the TouchRetouch gallery. Touch and hold a photo in any of the app’s three gallery views to open a menu offering three useful options: Hide, Favorite, and Delete from Photos Library. From the menu, choose Hide to move the image to the Hidden album (this album is accessible from both the Photos and TouchRetouch galleries). Use the Favorite option to add it to your Favorites album (this album is accessible from both the Photos and TouchRetouch galleries). Choose the Delete from Photos Library option to delete the picture from your device.

Another way to import a photo to the app is by using the Import tool at the top of the Home (gallery) screen (the leftmost icon in the album row). The tool offers three options to choose from: 1) open photos from the standard iOS gallery (built-in Photos app), 2) import images from the Files app, and 3) paste copied pictures from the clipboard.

IMPORT FROM FILES

In addition to using the Action Extensions sheet to import photos from the Files app, you could access the images stored there right from TouchRetouch — through the Import tool on the Home (gallery) screen.

Tap the tool and from the menu that drops down, choose the Files option.

When you are done with your photo, save it as a copy in the Files app by using the Open in.. option in the Export menu, or replace the original with an edited copy in its original location in Files by using the Modify Original option.

Note: It’s not possible to change the format for your output photo when using the Modify Original export option. If you manually change your photo’s file format in the Export Settings menu and then go to modify the original, the change won’t have any effect — your photo will be saved in its original format.

EDITING FROM THE PHOTOS APP

The app can also be used as an extension to Photos, and you can edit your images in TouchRetouch right from within the standard gallery. Please go to the Photos app, select a photo, tap Edit, tap the three-dot button, and then select TouchRetouch from the menu that appears. This will bring up the TouchRetouch interface. After you make your edits, tap Done to save your changes.

PHOTO DELETE

You can delete edited photos directly from the app. In the TouchRetouch gallery, touch and hold a photo you want to get rid of until a pop-up menu with a few items shows up. From it, choose the Delete from Photos Library option to have the image deleted from both the standard Photos library and TouchRetouch gallery. Photos you have deleted are kept in the Recently Deleted album in the Photos app for 30 days.

If you have the Save to App Album option turned on in the app’s settings, then you can find all your edited photos in the TouchRetouch album (in the Photos app) and delete them all in one operation.

Videos

More Tutorials

Smart Mesh Removal Tutorial
Smart Mesh Removal

Eliminate meshes from photos like magic.

Person Removal: Selection Touch-Up Tutorial
Person Removal: Selection Touch-Up

Adjust details for a flawless finish.

Person Removal: Auto-Erase & Repositioning Tutorial
Person Removal: Auto-Erase & Repositioning

Find with AI, remove with a tap.